a three-fer

February 13, 2011

some lovely, lovely yarn, two FOs and a family yarn find!

after some fascinating anecdotes from every family member of mine, I have concluded that my family does nothing without yarn. and i mean nothing.

My great aunt Mims or Gam, as we would call her, was no exception. Much like my family high school legacy, ours is one of knitting as well (ironically with the same people.)

For Cheesy Sweater Day this Spirit Week I happened upon this in my mother’s closet. A Princess Di sheep sweater! not to mention, I won for that day. Mims made this sweater for my mom years ago. Each sheep is individually colorworked and it is knit on teeny-tiny needles, perhaps 0s or 1s. Its gorgeous!

FO #1: Wonderland Cowl (pattern: honey cowl; yarn: madelinetosh dk in Mansfield Garden Party)

i haven’t taken it off since i finished it. its wonderful, and it goes perfectly with my effortless cardigan!

FO #2: Willow Cowl (pattern: Willow Cowl; yarn: Malabrigo Sock in Cote d’Azure)

soft, frothy and warm

now for the yarn:

just got my free skein of Dream in Color Smooshy from Eat.Sleep.Knit.’s yarn lotto! I chose Lunar Zazzle. Its a beautiful seaglass blue, green, purple-y varigated.

Malabrigo Rios in Indiecita for Baby B’s blanket and sweater

Sublime baby cashmerino silk dk in a Navy/French Blue color for the center of Baby B’s blanket

Malabrigo Worsted in Azul Bolita for an Abalone (?)

it’s hard to capture the deep saturated color of this yarn, its gorgeous, and its really hard to believe i like it so much, i normally knit with neutrals only!

Malabrigo Sock in Velvet Grapes

yay whim-yarn!

phew, that was a lot! can’t wait to get knitting…

2 Responses to “a three-fer”

  1. katili said

    Mm, a post full of yum! Isn’t Indiecita gorgeous? I just bought a skein of Mal Sock in that colorway!

    That sweater is phenomenal!

  2. kksweens said

    yeah, its such a fun colorway! gearing up in time for mal march!
    i adore that sweater, to bad my mom reclaimed it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

